Being an amazon in a size O world…

I am not a small woman. I never have been, not since before high school. Unfortunately for me I got bigger just when the trend in fashion, and what seemed like the whole world, got impossibly small. Size O small. What is that? How can you be a size O and still exist? Anyway, I spent many years trying to shrink, be thinner, be shorter, just be less me.

I come from a big family and for a long time I was the smallest, believe it or not. Now at 6 feet tall (6’1″ according to my BFF Holly) in bare feet with broad shoulders and a desperate need to buy all clothes in tall, I am a definitely NOT small. Finally I am starting to accept my size and be proud of it. It’s an ongoing battle for me. I am constantly reminded of how much easier it is to be pretty/thin/size O, but every day I get a little stronger and love the way I am a little bit more.

I can honestly give a huge amount of credit to Roller Derby. In that game girls brag about their muscular big size.  I don’t think anyone in that sport is a size O. For a girl who had never worn heels in her life, I spent time in front of crowds with skates that made me a good 3 inches taller.  I wore heels to after parties and towered over people. In celebration of my new love of my size I got my first tattoo. Nothing small either, I got a half sleeve of Wonder Woman, my muse. Every time I see her it reminds me to love being an amazon. Leave size O to the other girls!

175126-wonder-woman_400

Leave a comment